"O Scotia! my dear, my native soil!
For whom my warmest wish to heaven is sent;
Long may thy hardy sons of rustic toil
Be blest with health, and peace, and sweet content"
Robbie Burns

Thursday, November 4, 2010


This Friday the first two books I am showcasing are authors that were new to me. They both have stories set in Scotland but one’s is erotica and the other is romantic suspense heavy on the suspense.

RAMPANT by SASKIA WALKER is from Harlequin’s Spice, which is their erotica line. Set in Scotland is a young woman bewitched by 18th century witch whose cottage the heroine lives in? This book has been nominated by Romantic Times for 2010 in their Best Erotic Paranormal Fantasy award. And if you love erotica and haven’t tried Harlequin’s Spice line this is the one to start with.

If you love Scottish romance ( and if not why are you here) but need a story not set in the highlands that has a hero with all kinds of edge to him then I highly recommend TONI ANDERSON'S SEA OF SUSPICION. The story takes place in Fife, Scotland at a marine biology institute, present day. Probably what makes this such a good story is that much of the author who herself has worked toward her PhD at the Getty Marine Laboratory in Fife Scotland. This book kept me turning page after page, Toni was a wonderful new find for me. Check her out for a unique read.

The following are some of my favorite authors who will have new books out in the next couple of months. Some of these book are part of existing series and some start new series. With Christmas just 45 days away they will make great stocking stuffers for your own stocking!!

AMANDA SCOTT has a new book due out January 25, 2011. Set in the Highlands with HIGHLAND MASTER, she begins her new Scottish Knights series.

This is what Amazon has to say…

When eighteen-year-old Lady Catriona Mackintosh discovers a wounded man in the forest near her Highland home, little does she know that he has sworn a sacred oath to kill her father and other members of the powerful Highland confederation known as Clan Chattan. Nor does she realize that she has met her soul mate. Independent, competent, intelligent, fiercely proud of her heritage, determined always to live near her own family, and known to her family as the "wee wildcat" because of her quick temper, Catriona is the daughter of a Highland chieftain and granddaughter of the even more powerful Chief of Clan Chattan. But her life changes forever when she persuades Sir Finlagh Cameron to return with her to her home to recover from his wounds”.

KAREN HAWKINS is also starting a new series with ONE NIGHT IN SCOTLAND, which comes out on November 23, 2010. This series is the Hurst Amulet and brings back characters from her successful THE LAIRD WHO LOVED ME and SLEEPLESS IN SCOTLAND. This is one is Mary Hurst’s story and will set the stage for the books on her siblings. For those of us who love continuing stories this looks like a winner.

Romance author VERONICA WOLFF provides her faithful readers with the second installment in her Clan MacAlpin series with DEVIL’S OWN coming out March of 2011. Her first book in this series DEVIL’S HIGHLANDER came out August of 2010 and the series is set in Highlands after the Civil Wars. What makes her books unique is that the books are well researched and the writing is a cut above.

I am sure there are many more book but betweenteaching a class this month and trying to meet my daily goals for NANO, I’ve only had time to read for my class.